Posted in Knitting, Scarf

Loyalty

​Feb 2010

Vardhman Millenium Yarn

Acrylic Yarn

8ply / DK / Worsted Weight

7 mm Knitting Needles

Obviously, my parents were next in line for scarves. The red one is my dad’s and the purple one my mom’s. Crochet would take a lot of time and yarn. It would come out slightly stiff and a little uncomfortable. My mom suggested I try knitting, especially since it would solve all the issues with crochet. Since then I’ve only used crochet to add a little extra to my knitting.
I must say that I have thoroughly enjoyed knitting. There’s so much out there and it can get a little overwhelming sometimes but it’s just so amazing to look at that finished project. It doesn’t hurt as much to unravel if there’s a mistake, plus you can always just drop a few stitches to fix it instead. It really is quite relaxing and gives me something to figit with while watching TV or listening to an audio book, I can get so engrossed I loose track of time. It’s especially wonderful to just pick up my needles when I’m upset and just need time to calm down.

A lot of friends have asked to learn how to knit. My mom taught me a few basics and then I checked on YouTube. There are a lot of tutorials out there for different techniques and stitches and loads of help in forums, you just need time. There are kits, books and online classes that you can buy, which would not need as much time as trying to get it free. I spent the time and went the free route. I’ll be listing the links I used for each project in the respective posts.

http://www.knittinghelp.com
The best place for the basics and everything you need to know to start knitting anything.

http://www.knittingonthenet.com/stitches.htm
I used this for a lot of my work. There are some nice free patterns too.

Author:

After 5 years and 4 months of co-operate customer service, I quit to start a home business with yarn craft and dog food along with being a new mother.

Leave a Reply

