Posted in Knitting, Scarf

Gratitude

Aug 2010

Vardhman Millenium Yarn

Acrylic Yarn

8 ply / DK / Worsted Weight

7 mm Knitting Needles

Seed Stitch

©All rights reserved. Please seek permission before reusing images

I wanted to make something for a family friend of ours and also wanted to mix knit and purl stitches. After going through the stitch library I decided to use the seed stitch. It helped me learn to knit and purl at almost the same speed. I also found out that Continental knitting is much easier than English knitting (for me). If you’re just starting to learn to knit I recommend seed stitch for your first project. It’ll help you decide which knitting style suits you and give you practice with both stitches. A lot of people don’t like purling because it’s so much slower, but as they say, practice makes perfect.

Another tip is to always slip the first stitch when starting a new row. It results in nice neat edges for flat knits. And if you use the crochet cast on and bind off the entire project has similar looking edges.

Dec 2012

Vardhman Millenium Yarn

Acrylic Yarn

8 ply / DK / Worsted Weight

7 mm Knitting Needles

Seed Stitch

I had made a gift for one of my friends and a colleague of her’s asked for one.

Aug 2012

Maharaja Silk Lace Yarn

Silk Yarn

2 ply / Lace Weight

3 mm Knitting Needles

Seed Stitch

I had ordered some samples from http://www.silkindian.com and I accidentally got this skein dirty. I had to cut the portions that were stained and decided to just knit a scarf.

Nov 2014

Laura Knitting Cotton Yarn

Cotton Yarn

8 ply / DK / Worsted Weight

5 mm Knitting Needles

Seed Stitch

I wanted a colorful scarf.

Apr 2015

Laura Knitting Cotton Yarn

Cotton Yarn

8 ply / DK / Worsted Weight

5 mm Knitting Needles

Seed Stitch

My dad used my colorful scarf one night and decided he wanted 2 for himself, one neutral and one colorful. But wider than mine.

Apr 2015

Laura Knitting Cotton Yarn

Cotton Yarn

8 ply / DK / Worsted Weight

5 mm Knitting Needles

Seed Stitch

Then my husband decided he wanted one too.

Author:

After 5 years and 4 months of co-operate customer service, I quit to start a home business with yarn craft and dog food along with being a new mother.

Leave a comment